July 17, 2008

  • Edison Glass

    We took in a show with Edison Glass, a family favorite. The mission team that has been at our church went, too, which made for more company while we sifted through the weaker local warm-up bands.

    The Working Title and Colors in the Air are touring with Edison and were, surprisingly, rich in creativity and tunes.

    The downside was the venue. Garfield Artworks is a long hall with little ventilation, no a/c, one big ceiling fan, and no backstage. All the bands’ gear lines up along the walls near the stage like dumb security guards. The band members were sweating by the bucket. We didn’t have the nerve to ask for an encore because they played with their whole heart and soul for the main playlist and were melting before our eyes.

    Edison Glass, with their layered vocals and almost-classical movements, belted my favorite song, When All We Have Is Taken/Comfort:

    If I’m unable …when you are calling
    If I’m unable
    If I’m unable …when you are calling

    If I’m unable


    When all we have is taken
    All we have is taken now

    Take my affliction
    I’m cured with your comfort
    Take my affliction
    Take my depression
    I’m cured with your comfort
    Take my depression

    Will you learn fire burns?
    When all we have is taken
    I’m falling to grace again
    When all we have is taken
    Take it all, take it
    now, I surrender…
    Hallelujah

    We stood as a front row of sorts, and D took dozens of amazing pics. You can see K’s face in one. Lead singers Joshua Silverberg and Josh Morin were gracious to chat with us before the concert…outside on the sidewalk. They were down-to-earth and didn’t make their tours sound glamorous. They miss their families, sleep at kind strangers’ homes, and drive and drive and drive. The encouraging news is that the Long Island-based band is playing with some big mainstream bands in the coming months in NYC.

    ||||||  lynard   

Comments (3)

  • I love mini concerts!! YAY!!!

  • I saw a show at the Artworks a few years ago, and the venue made watching the bands awkward. I don’t mind small, little-funded clubs (I actually prefer them), but this was just weird. Especially the flea market someone had posted in the entrance during the opening band’s set.

  • @jasonpanella - 

    Flea market??! Oh dear. That’s awkward. Yeah, we’ve seen the gamut with our son performing and us all being fans of the music, but I wonder if the zoning board would not panic to see how Artworks operates.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *