February 24, 2008

  • Fevered Pitch

    I cannot comprehend how K can be so lovely when she is so ill. She has been wasting away on the couch since Thursday night, battling high fevers undaunted by pain relievers.

    Children’s ER ruled out strep and pneumonia yesterday. I waived the influenza test since the doc said she wouldn’t prescribe anit-virals for a teen. Man, I hated hauling the weak girl out in the icy world to sit for hours amongst the other hacking, whining, miserable humans, but the need to know she wasn’t on the brink of complicated complications and the urging of her PCP propelled us out of our warm home.

    But back to her beauty: K’s eyes appear bluer and bigger when they are glassy with high temperatures, offset by her russet hair and fevered cheeks and lips. The beauty can’t talk because of laryngitis and a raw throat, so every so often her pale hands flail in “sign” language. She flails so gracefully.

    Remarkably, the signs for “I need more blue Gatorade” are the same for “Is it time for more ibuprofen?” and “Maisie, get away from my Sucrets!”

    In the middle of the night, the sign language is ineffective so she calls me on my cell. She doesn’t talk, just rings. Hey, it works. When we were sick like that, my mom gave us a big, honkin bell to ring. (Honkin bell: Is that like a ringing horn:?) Sorry.

    In lieu of church (we decided we were an unclean household), we all listened to a compelling message from Ted Donnelly of Ireland. It is the first message of several in a youth conference series, and I would like to hear the rest. His sermon, “The Message of the Cross,” can be found on ReformedVoice.com. Donnelly is human and plain in his preaching, and yet profoundly Christ-centric and informative.

    donnelly2 Donnelly

    Right now the ailing princess is coughing like a lawn mower. God bless her.

    |||||| lynard

Comments (6)

  • Wow, we saw you about a month ago — was it us? If so, I apologize! I tried hard not to interact with Kate at all, even when she slept over! I don’t think I even breathed on her! Tell her it *does* pass…eventually.  :(

  • Ha, I don’t think the virus would have simmered for a month. There is a plethora of varieties ping ponging around school. This one pinged her good…

  • Addie is fighting a sore throat as of yesterday. We are watching it closely. I’d hate to see her sick again, but yes, we’ve all had multiple cold/flu illnesses already this winter. I saw a news story about how widespread it’s been this year, so it’s not just our anecdotal information.

  • As you now know, Addie is indeed sick again. :( I’ve noticed that she is also glowingly lovely when sick. Her cheeks flush pink, and her eyes do look bluer, which is amazing because they’re already a gorgeous ice-blue. She is sweet and quiet and curled up and frail when sick — I keep wanting to give her a big mommy hug, but then I think, “Nahh, eww, she’s sick.”  :) :)

  • I hope that you are all better now!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *