November 6, 2008

  • Traveling Thoughts

    1–When I go to other cities, I never fail to be amazed (for at least three seconds) as to how many “out-of-state” license plates I see. (“Wow, there are a lot of Illinois plates at this Chicago Target!”) I know. I know. But I am a real brunette.

    2–Why don’t people who are native English speakers or who at least have good diction give the routine emergency instructions on domestic plane flights? (“In kehs of cabin de-pressization, an ossygen mass….”) They inevitably pick the flight attendant who has the worst speaking skills to use the lame sound system…. Does this build my confidence in flight?

    3–Don’t leave your boarding pass in the little TSA plastic bin with your shoes when you walk through the metal detector. It will prompt hard, probing questions, like “What is your first name?” “…Um…Brunette?”

    ||||||  lynard

Comments (4)

  • Yeah, your flying experience sounds way too much like ours was. Poor A. got frisked (I mean, FRISKED) at Gatwick Airport (thankfully, by a woman), while they allowed four or five electronics-clad men saunter right past untouched. She was soooo not happy about that, and I don’t blame her. Talk about going out of your way NOT to profile!

    I was proud of how well we did, though, zipping through airports and making connecting flights with time to spare. (We went from London to Philly, where we had 1.5 hours to get through customs, which meant getting our luggage first, then re-checking our luggage, all while carrying our purses and carry-on bags too … and then had to get to the connecting flight’s gate. We had just enough time to get some bottled drinks (since the flight would have charged us double) and make some phone calls (now that we were back in the U.S. and the phone worked again).

    I tell ya: That whole experience was just complicated enough — and the eight-hour flight just dull enough — to pretty much cure me of fear of flying. It’s definitely a miracle and an answer to prayer how UNafraid I am of our upcoming flights to Tampa later this month. I’m almost looking forward to it!

  • Funny!

    Your story in my comments is funny too. I’m glad to know that I’m not alone. Must be a mom thing.

  • lol- i’m a brunette all the way! (my sister used to say it’s due to being raised on chocolate, starting with chocolate milk at a tender age! which is of course not true, although i like to think my hue reflects my chocolateyness.)

    oh i need to get that book….i read the other two a while ago and forgot to watch for #3.

  • @beautifulmonday - 

    Oh, you’ve read the Pellinor series?! Cool. I just ordered book four from the UK.

    Katie got me started. I love Croggon because she is a literary-type writer, poetic and lavish in her imagery. She writes Arthurian fantasy that actually has thoughtful character development and, oh my, relationships. The sad thing is that her worldview is not Christian. One minute I think her treatment of evil is spot on and the next page I’m wrinkling my nose.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *